Chapter 453 – Long Xuan Can’t Keep Me Forever

Prince Xin didn’t get to see Lady Liu’s remains. Instead, he was summoned from the room by Long Xuan. The palace attendants who had first discovered Lady Liu prepared her body according to Long Xuan’s instructions and were not seen again that night. In the deep palace, the absence of a few servants was not unusual. Everyone was busy with the funerals of Empress Dowager Duanmu, Empress Dowager Liu, and Prince Yu Long Xiang. No one cared about the whereabouts of a few attendants.

Luo Wei requested Long Xuan to allow Luo Qi to return to Yunguan, which Long Xuan granted. Additionally, Long Xuan informed Luo Wei that he would send Wei Lan to garrison in Eastern Shang.

Luo Wei remarked, “Eastern Shang? It’s so far away.”

“He is a general. Without actual military achievements, no matter how many titles I bestow upon him, Wei Lan won’t gain the trust of the troops. I’m doing this for his own good,” Long Xuan replied.

After casting a glance at Long Xuan, Luo Wei said, “Alright, I trust Wei Lan’s abilities. He will not let you down.”

Long Xuan approached Luo Wei and said, “I promised to give Wei Lan wealth and glory. I won’t go back on my word.”

“Yes,” Luo Wei smiled at Long Xuan, as calm as water, “Your Majesty surely has state affairs to attend to. I won’t disturb you any longer.”

Seeing Luo Wei about to leave, Long Xuan called out, “Luo Wei.”

Luo Wei paused, turned around, and asked, “Is there anything else your Majesty wish to command?”

“You,” Long Xuan had stopped Luo Wei, but at that moment, he didn’t know what he wanted to say to him. Finally, he said, “You should go rest first. I… I’ll visit you at Yi Jin Garden tonight.”

Luo Wei bowed slightly and said, “Your Majesty, my eldest brother is about to return to Yunguan. Tonight, I want to be with him.”

That meant he didn’t want him to visit him tonight. Long Xuan nodded, “I understand. You may go.”

Luo Wei turned and quickly left, his steps, although lacking strength, fast.

After Luo Wei left, Long Xuan issued an edict to demote Empress Chang to the rank of Consort, and ordered her to relocate to Dongfo Hall, which was almost overrun by weeds and foxes.

After the demotion edict was issued, there was no uproar in the court. Chang Ling had committed treason. If it weren’t for the Emperor leading the expedition, she wouldn’t have been able to retain the title of Empress for so long.

That day, Luo Wei did not prepare a farewell banquet for Luo Qi. He was afraid that a delay might change things. After Luo Qi arrived at Yi Jin Garden, he handed him gifts for Ye Xiu and Luo Shuang, then urged him to leave the capital quickly.

Luo Qi didn’t think Long Xuan intended to kill him, but seeing Luo Wei’s anxious look, he nodded. He then asked him, “Xiao Wei, don’t you want to leave the palace?”

Luo Wei was stunned by Luo Qi’s question, then replied, “Of course, but I can’t leave yet. Without Long Xuan’s approval, I can’t leave.”

Luo Qi said, “What if I exchange it with the Yunguan Iron Cavalry, along with the military achievements from this campaign?”

Luo Qi’s short sentence made Luo Wei ponder for a long time. Afterward, Luo Wei, who rarely losing her composure in front of Luo Qi, jumped up from his chair, “You want to hand over your military power?” he asked Luo Qi, “Have you mentioned this to Long Xuan?”

Luo Qi said, “I mentioned it to His Majesty on the day Empress Dowager Liu passed away.”

“Did he agree?” Luo Wei hurriedly asked.

Luo Qi shook his head and said, “No, he just won’t allow you to leave the palace.”

Luo Wei sighed and said to Luo Qi, “Elder brother, you are so confused!”

Luo Qi said, “Why would I be confused?”

“We ran away to Xuanzhou in the past, but in the end, he still caught us and brought us back,” Luo Wei said, “Even if he agreed to your request this time and let me leave the palace, once Elder Brother loses military power, he can easily bring me back anytime. Does Elder Brother think that Long Xuan is a man of his word?”

Luo Qi was a little scared at this point, saying, “He is already the ruler of the country.”

“The ruler of the country,” Luo Wei sneered, saying, “Even the ruler of a country is still human. After becoming the Emperor, is he no longer Long Xuan?”

Luo Qi slammed his fist on the table, saying, “So you mean you can never leave the palace for the rest of your life? Does he want to keep you locked up forever?!”

At this point, Luo Wei laughed, and this joyful smile scared Luo Qi.

“Xiao Wei,” Luo Qi also stood up, looking at Luo Wei somewhat nervously, “What is wrong with you? If you have a way, just tell your elder brother. No matter what method it is, your elder brother will definitely listen to you.”

Luo Wei smiled and patted Luo Qi’s shoulder, saying, “No need. Long Xuan can’t keep me locked up forever. When elder brother returns to Yunguan, he should live well with my sister-in-law, and it would be even better if he could give me a few more nephews and nieces. That would make me happy.”

“What about you,” Luo Qi had no idea what Luo Wei was saying. Clearly, they were talking about how to leave the palace, but this person could still bring him and Ye Xiu up.

“I have a way,” Luo Wei smiled and patted Luo Qi’s shoulder, saying, “Elder Brother doesn’t need to worry about me.”

“What method?” Luo Qi said, “Tell me, I’ll listen.”

Luo Wei smiled even more happily, “Now is not the time to talk about it. Just trust me, Elder Brother. I won’t let Long Xuan keep me locked up forever.”

“Then you…”

“Alright, let’s not talk about it anymore,” Luo Wei pulled Luo Qi, saying, “I’ll accompany you to Changming Palace to bid farewell to Long Xuan.”

Luo Qi said, “I’m going to take my leave, and you want to come too?”

“I won’t go in, I’ll wait outside,” Luo Wei said, pulling Luo Qi out, “I’ll send my elder brother out of the palace later.”

Zhao Fu, accompanied by a few eunuchs, carried the gifts from Luo Wei in his hands and followed the two brothers.

Luo Qi, accompanied by Luo Wei, bid farewell to Long Xuan at Changming Palace.

Luo Wei had clearly said he would entertain Luo Qi tonight, but now Luo Qi was coming to bid him farewell. This kind of lie was truly disrespectful. However, Long Xuan only exchanged a few words with Luo Qi, reminding him to be more vigilant in the military and to pay attention to the words of Sima Qingsha. He rewarded him with many properties and jewelry and then let him go.

“I respectfully ask Your Majesty to take care of the dragon body,” when Luo Qi left the hall, he still performed the rituals of a subject towards his Emperor, and asked him to take care of his health.

“Alright,” Long Xuan just smiled faintly. He was aware to some extent of the lack of sincerity in Luo Qi’s words. He understood that this person likely wished for him to die quickly for Luo Wei’s sake, “Shiyi, please take care of yourself. I wish you a safe journey.”

“Thank you very much, Your Majesty,” after Luo Qi bowed to Long Xuan again, he exited Changming Palace.

Luo Wei watched Luo Qi leave the hall, and only then did the gloomy expression on his face turn into a smile. He called to Luo Qi from afar, “Elder brother.”

“Mm,” Luo Qi walked closer to Luo Wei and said, “Let’s go.”

The two brothers walked next to each other, slightly apart by a shoulder’s width, towards the gates of the palace.

“Xiao Wei, don’t deceive me!” When Luo Qi was about to leave the palace, he couldn’t help but say to Luo Wei, “Do you really have a way?”

“When have I ever deceived my elder brother?” Luo Wei immediately laughed and said, “Elder brother, we’ll meet again someday.”

After Luo Qi left the palace, he turned back but Luo Wei was no longer where he was when he had sent him off just now.

“Commander Luo,” outside the palace, Luo Qi’s guards saw him coming out of the palace gate and greeted him.

Luo Qi mounted his horse and said, “Let’s go back to Yunguan.”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started